Shin Splints and Rings

Hiya everyone! I was all excited to start out blogging with a post on running today, but I’ve given myself shin splints by starting out doing too much running too fast. I’m very new to running (I used to be an avid spinner, but then my family started doing 5ks in our neighborhood, and I really liked running them), and when I started a couple weeks ago, I was pushing myself too much. As a result, I’ve got shin splints. Take my advice, if you’re ever going to start running seriously, find a trainer, or at the least, download a free running trainer app. There are a lot of them. I just got a free 10k app for my phone. It’s got workouts to start you into running by starting you off running and walking, until over the course of 14 weeks, you gradually build up to being able to run a 10k. Hopefully that will reduce the risk of getting more injuries. However, I’ve learned that I need to listen to my body and give it a rest when it’s in pain. So, right now I’m taking it easy, biking instead of running/walking because it doesn’t hurt, and using lots of ice.

On the bright side, I made a really cool bead wire wrapped wring today after watching a video online on how to make them.
Here’s a picture. The two on the end are beaded, and the middle is another ring I made a while ago with a wire spiral.

Have you ever been injured by starting off doing more than your body could handle, or injured at all for that matter?

Have you ever run a 5k or a 10k?

 

Leave a Reply

