I finally did some running! Kinda…

I recently discovered that I love running, so I dove in doing some intense 50 minute runs (w/ a 5 minute warmup and a 5 minute cool down). I was in good shape, I’ve been exercising about an hour pretty consistantly for the past two years now, but I was never a runner, I was a spinner. So I wound up with shin splints. So it was back to biking for a week or so, and now I’m starting up slowly this time. I downloaded a 10k trainer app for my phone so that I can get my body used to running before I go long distances. I feel like such a wimp, but I finally did week 1 day 1 today. It was a 5 minute warmup walk, intervals of running for 60 seconds followed by walking for 90 seconds for 8 intervals or 20 minutes. It ends with a 5 minute cool down walk. I felt like such a wimp to be honest. I’m used to intense exercise for an hour at a time. This was not my style, and ED was telling me that I need to go longer and harder to burn more calories. But I could feel my shins starting to hurt with each stride I took, so I stopped when the app said to stop. I guess I need to listen to my body and not ED.

I logged it on Daily Mile. It’s a really cool site that lets you track how far you’ve run, biked, swam, ellipticalled (if that’s even a real word), etc. This is the 2nd workout I’ve logged on there, and so far I’m up to 5 miles. 2.5 the last time and 2.5 today. The site also tells you some really cool things like how many times you’ve been around the world, how many tvs you’ve powered, and how much gas you’ve saved. You can send others motivation too. It’s a great workout motivator.

What do you use for workout motivation? Do you track your workouts? Do you use an electronic trainer, personal trainer, or yourself :)?

Leave a Reply

