Petty Annoyances, Working Out Editioin

Hi everyone!

Have you ever been really annoyed by something at one moment, and later, when remembering it, realized how petty it was? I do that a lot, probably because I get annoyed by a lot of things. So here are some of the petty things that annoy me before/during/after a workout. Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful I can work out, but I find I get annoyed very easily by the little things. Can you relate to any of them?

Petty Annoyance #1: My hair gets all tangled and sweaty after a run.

Whenever I run, I tie my hair up in a high pony tail. Hopefully, I though, it’ll get less sweaty if it’s not constantly brushing up against the back of my neck and my back, and the ponytail will keep it from getting tangled. Silly me, it still gets drenched and tangled. Is there any way to prevent this? I guess I’ll just need to get good at brushing the tangles out and not just pulling them out.

Petty annoyance #2: My nose runs like a faucet.

Does anyone else have this problem? I asked around in my gym class at school this past year, and I seem to be the only one. Whenever I work out, my nose runs like a faucet. It’s great and all when I have a cold because it clears up my sinuses, but it can get really annoying having to carry around a pack of tissues or a paper towel to blow my nose when I’m running or biking. I really have no clue what to do about this, other than just accept it and bring tissues with. I find it petty though because needing to blow your nose is something humans do on a regular basis, but every five minutes or so is a bit excessive to me.

Petty annoyance #3: I sweat the most after I’m done running, and it just keeps coming back.

For some reason, this really annoys me. I want the sweat to come while I’m running and my body motion can help it dry, not after when I’m standing still and stretching, when it just starts pouring off me. It’s so annoying, and I have to towel off multiple times. But when I reflect on this, I can’t help but think “DUH!” because sweating is what happens when you exercise, so it’s totally to be expected.

Maybe not so petty annoyance #4: My knees always hurt after a run.

I used to think that I just had shin splints, so I’ve taken some time off running, but when I started up again doing a combo of running and walking for only like a half an hour, my knees really hurt afterwards. So I’ve been biking lately, but it’s really starting to get to me. Is there something wrong with my knees? Why does this keep happening? Is my form okay? Do I have too hard of an impact in my stride? What am I doing wrong? Luckily, my mom is taking me to an exercise trainer/coach so I can work on my running and make sure I’m doing it right, as well as find any problems. I’m looking forward to it!

Can you relate to any of these?

What annoys you when you work out, petty or not?

Thanks for reading and have a great day everyone πŸ™‚

12 Comments

  1. Haha these are great. Sweat I can relate to. I am a sweating machine (TMI?). Afterwards my body takes forever to cool down. I don’t really have any pains when I run but I am sorry about your knees. My nose runs like crazy too! I never understood why. And the hair, I put mine in a braid so it doesn’t get tangled only thing that keeps it from being a sweaty tangled mess.

    • I’m definitely going to have to try braiding my hair. It’ll just take some practice though. I’ve never been good at braiding my hair.
      I’m also glad to know I’m not the only one whose nose runs a lot when I run. Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. i totally relate to being annoyed and realizing how petty it is. example: my past weekend haha. my hair is a pain when i run too…try doing a sports braid! thats what I do when I run and it helps so much especially because my hair is so long

  3. Oooohh!! I can totally relate with the hair thing! Haha, it’s the grossest thing ever, and I hate it when it gets in my face, despite the fact that I’m wearing a headband!

    One of my petty annoyances is when people at my gym walk on the outer lane on our track. The thing is, we all know that 16 laps on the outer lane = 1 mile and the inner one is a little less, but no one knows by how much. It annoys me that people walk there as opposed to the inner lane, because it makes it hard to calculate the distance (like if I wanted to go for a 4 miles) I ran AND there’s a sign that says “Walkers — inner lane; Runners — outer lane”
    …So yeah. That’s my little rant for today. πŸ˜‰

    • I hate that too, only it happens in school. In gym, sometimes we have to run on the track and another class will be walking where runners are supposed to go, or a class is just coming into the field house where the track is, and they all just stand on the track, and you have to go way off the track to get around them. So annoying!

  4. I put my hair into a french braid on my head to keep it from getting tangled while I run! πŸ™‚

  5. foodaddictionrecovery

    A bun would help, and then you wont get whipped by a pony tail. I would stuff tissue in my bra so I would be able to have my hands free. My nose runs when I eat spicy or hot temperature food. Also in the cold… It is an annoyance isn’t it!

  6. Haha. My hair always gets crazy and tangled when I work out. I guess it likes having fun too. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

