Healing My Legs

Hi everyone, sorry it’s been so long… again. I guess I really don’t have much to say, or at least that I really want to say. However, the main event in my life that’s been happening lately has been trying to heal my legs. First I thought it was shin splints, but then I did a little more research and learned that where shin splints usually are isn’t where my pain is. So I went to see a personal trainer exercise coach person, and they said I probably have an overuse injury in my tibialis anterior, which is responsible for the motion of moving your toes up and towards your body, and according to her, “this happens rapidly when running, so if you just jumped into running, you probably overused that muscle, resulting in inflammation.” Fun stuff, eh?

But the pain started over a month ago, and about three weeks ago, I started biking instead of running. This past week, I haven’t done any exercise. It’s kind of driving me crazy, but I have no motivation to get back going into anything but running, so I guess I’ll just have to let my leg rest. It’s probably best for it anyways. So I’ve talked to my mom and my psychologist and we’ve had a couple of things done to help heal my leg, because it wasn’t healing on it’s own. One was meeting with that personal trainer to see if she had any suggestions. She gave me some exercises to strengthen my tibialis anterior, and stretch my calf, which should help. She also suggested icing my leg, which has helped a lot. I was using a heating pad before, but it wasn’t really doing much. Icing feels so good, especially with how hot it is outside.

Another thing I did was acupuncture. It was kind of cool and very relaxing, except for the fact that I really was itchy and couldn’t move very much, and I hated the anticipation of getting needles stuck in me. But overall, it was helpful, and I have another appointment on Wednesday. Of course, being me, the first thing I did when the acupuncturist left the room was to take my phone out of my pocket and snap a picture. This wasn’t easy, because I had needles all up my arm, but I was determined!

This was the most tender spot, but it felt so good after a little while!

My knees. Lots of needles!

Pretty good pictures for a phone, huh?

So that’s what’s been going on in my life this past week. In other words, not much has really happened. I did get an engraving pen from Michaels Craft Store for my jewelry making.  Some time I’ll have to do a post and show everyone what I’ve made so far.

What do you do to heal sports injuries? What do you prefer, icing or heating?

6 Comments

  1. Glad you’re back! Acupuncture sounds like it was quite an experience. You can’t go wrong with ice, unless you keep it on too long. Try alternating twenty minutes on and twenty off. It keeps the ice feeling icy, and prevents ice burns.

    • I didn’t know ice could burn. Weirdly unexpected but I believe it. What I do is put water in dixie cups and peel off a little bit at a time once it’s frozen and rub that all over my knees. It’s a good way to give an ice massage type thing

  2. Thanks for sharing your story, I know how bad overuse injuries are (I’ve had several bouts of tendinitis) and I hope ultimately you will get to good place. As a life Coach and someone who has worked with women going through all sorts of difficult challenges, I know how important it is for other women to be able to read blogs like this. You are an inspiration.

  3. I’ve been doings some acupressure recently — it’s really been helping me! I don’t know how I would handle the needles though… I’m glad it’s been working for you! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Engraved Jewelry Pendants « having fun while i run

Leave a Reply

